| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions. Connect your Gmail, DriveDropbox, and Slack accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize all your file attachments. Learn more and claim your free account.

View
 

Closely Related Vendors and Organizations

Page history last edited by Brian Tyrseck 9 years, 5 months ago

Producing a promotion usually requires marshalling several resources from multiple vendors. Below is a list of the most commonly used suppliers.

 

Voice Over Talent Agencies:

The voice over is one of the most important factors in creating an on-air promotion's impact. Frequently the audience may not actually be watching the TV screen when a promotion airs (they may have taken the opportunity to fetch a soda from the kitchen for example) so it is important that the network gets its message across through the voice over alone. Voicing promotions (and this also applies to advertisements) is a very specialized skill and provides a lucrative career for the top talent The Screen Actors Guild has strict guidelines as to minimum payment rates for voicing a promotion and each of the tags (eg Monday at 9:00, Tonight, Next). Voice over may also be used as one means of branding a network or a program, thus a particular actor may become the "voice of the network". Denzel Washington for example is the "voice" of CBS news and an important part of the program's authoritative branding. Some of the more well known voice over talent agencies are:

 

     Atlas Talent Agency -  http://www.atlastalent.com/atlas_voices.html 

 

     Sunspots Productions -  http://www.sunspotsproductions.com/

 

     Voice Over LA - http://www.volatalent.com/

 

     An online directory of voice over agencies - http://www.voices.com/voice-over-agencies.htm

 

Still Stock Photography Agencies:

The vast majority of on-air promotions rely on clips from the shows they are promoting to provide the visuals. However there are occasions when producers require still images to achieve a specific creative goal. Sometimes footage from a show isn't available and a promo producer needs to be inventive by coming up with an idea that doesn't use clips. Here are some the better known stills agencies:

 

     The Associated Press - http://www.apimages.com/

 

     Corbis Images - http://www.corbisimages.com/

 

     Getty Images - http://www.gettyimages.com/

 

     Jupiter Images - http://www.jupiterimages.com/

 

     Age Fotostock -  http://www.agefotostock.com/

 

     Photo Library - http://www.photolibrary.com/

 

     Veer - http://www.veer.com/

 

Motion Stock Agencies:

Similar considerations apply to the use of stock footage as apply to stills ie a producer may not have access to clips from a show or she/he needs to execute a creative idea inexpensively. Indeed many vendors can supply both.

 

     The Associated Press - http://www.apimages.com/

 

     Corbis Images - http://www.corbisimages.com/

 

     Getty Images - http://www.gettyimages.com/

 

     Thought Equity Motion - http://www.thoughtequity.com/

 

     Thought Equity acts as an licensor of footage for a number of companies and broadcaster including the BBC, National Geographic, Paramount, Sony, MGM and Columbia.

 

Production Music Libraries:

Most on-air promotion and packaging utilize music from Production Music Libraries. These libraries offer an extensive range of tracks in every conceivable style and genre suitable for all types of programming. Typically a producer can conduct a music search online using keywords and then edit the results of the search in real time. Since the music production libraries own the copyright in their works, tracks are easily licensed and usually at a fraction of the cost of either commissioning music or licensing a commercially available recording. Some of the larger and more well know production music libraries are:  

 

     APM Music – www.apmmusic.com

 

     De Wolfe – www.dewolfemusic.com

 

     Extreme Music – www.extrememusic.com

 

     Killer Tracks – www.killertracks.com

 

     KPM – www.kpm.co.uk

 

     Non-Stop Music – www.nonstopmusic.com

 

Wikipedia has a useful background article on production music at:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Production_music

 

 

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.